Monday, 5 August 2013

Deadline to enrol as a voter in the 7 September 2013 federal election is 8pm Monday 12 August

Enrol to vote now for the 2013 federal election
Updated: 4 August 2013
The federal election has been announced and Australians must act now to ensure they are enrolled to vote by the deadline of 8pm on 12 August 2013, the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) said today.
Electoral Commissioner Ed Killesteyn said all Australian citizens aged 18 years and over are required by law to enrol and vote in the Saturday 7 September federal election.
"To enrol, go online at Enrolments can also be completed by tablet or smartphone," Mr Killesteyn said.
"It's important that you enrol now, because if you are not enrolled by the deadline you won't be able to vote in the 2013 federal election."
Paper enrolment forms are available at any AEC office, Australia Post, Centrelink or Medicare outlet, and must be completed and returned to the AEC by the 8pm 12 August deadline.
Mr Killesteyn urged all Australians to take the time to check that their address details were up-to-date on the electoral roll.
"Every time you move, you must update your address on the electoral roll. You can do this online at," Mr Killesteyn said.
"If you haven't kept your enrolment details up-to-date, you could have been removed from the electoral roll. If you're unsure if you are on the roll, check your details now at or call the AEC on 13 23 26.
"Don't leave it to the last minute to enrol and risk missing out on your vote. It only takes a few minutes to enrol or update your details online."
Seventeen year old Australians turning eighteen on or before 7 September 2013 can also enrol and vote in the federal election.
Key dates for the 2013 federal election
Announcement of election
Sunday 4 August 2013
Issue of writ
Monday 5 August 2013
Close of rolls
8pm Monday 12 August 2013
Close of candidate nominations
12 midday Thursday 15 August 2013
Declaration of candidate nominations
12 midday Friday 16 August 2013
Election day
Saturday 7 September 2013
Return of writs (latest date)
Wednesday 13 November 2013
State, Northern Territory and ACT media contacts:
Keith Eaton
Ph. 02 9375 6313
Mob. 0411 148 608
Paul Langtry
Ph. 08 8237 6582
Mob. 0413 452 532
Dan Doherty
Ph. 03 9285 7128
Sandra Riordan
Ph. 03 6235 0501
Mob. 0438 425 730
Caroline D'Allura
Ph. 07 3834 3428
Mob. 0400 270 660
Robert Pugsley
Ph. 08 8982 8001
Mob. 0418 253 357
Brendon Barlow
Ph. 08 6363 8026
Mob. 0413 271 869
Evan Ekin-Smyth
Ph. 02 6271 4419
Mob. 0401 963 909
National media spokesperson:
Phil Diak
Ph. 02 6271 4419
Mob. 0413 452 539

No comments: