Sunday, 5 October 2014

Summer Daylight Savings: Good morning to five different Australian time zones in pictures

Australia  has a landmass of approximately 7.692 million square kilometres making it the world's sixth largest country by physical size.

Therefore it always has three different time zones, Western Standard Time (AWST), Central Standard Time (ACST) and Eastern Standard Time (AEST):

For visitors to this country this translates as Greenwich Mean Time plus 8, 9.5 and 10 hours respectively:

At 2am on Sunday 5 October 2014 annual summer daylight savings time comes into force and five different time zones exist until Sunday 5 April:

This means that this morning when it is 9am in New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory:
it will be 6am in West Australia;
7.30am in the Northern Territory
8am in Queenslandand
8.30am in South Australia.

No comments: