Saturday, 1 April 2017

Natural disaster relief announced for Ballina, Byron, Kyogle, Lismore, Richmond Valley and Tweed local government areas

Six out of seven local government areas in the NSW Northern Rivers region have been declared natural disaster areas in the wake of flooding caused by ex-Tropical Cyclone Debbie.

Australian Government, Disaster Assist, 31 March 2017:

North Coast Floods: from 28 March 2017

The joint Australian, state and territory governments' Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA) provide a range of financial assistance to the natural disaster-declared areas in each state or territory.

For the floods which commenced on 28 March 2017, the available assistance measures include:

* personal hardship and distress assistance
* restoration of essential public assets
* counter disaster operations
* concessional loans for small businesses, primary producers and voluntary non-profit organisations
* freight subsidies for primary producers
* grants for voluntary non-profit organisations.

For information on available recovery assistance, visit the Emergency NSW website.

For further information on recovery arrangements, visit the Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements page.

The above assistance may be available in the following local government areas

Richmond Valley

The Northern Star reported on 31 March 2017 that:

It's understood some adults will be eligible for payments of $1,000 each and children $400 each.

Images from the last few days which appeared in both mainstream and social media......

Photographs can be found at Google Images

No comments: